January 08, 2021

Video Showing the 4 Stages of Swallowing: Biomechanics & Bolus Movement

With a normal swallow, food and liquids move from the mouth into the esophagus directed by a precise sequence of coordinated muscle movements. In order to adequately describe the biomechanics and bolus movement during swallow, the 4 stage model was developed: Oral Prepatory Stage, Oral Transit Stage, Pharyngeal Stage, and Esophageal Stage. The animation describes each of these stages which provides the necessary background knowledge in order to understand when swallowing is abnormal.

Fauquier blog
Fauquier ENT

Dr. Christopher Chang is a private practice otolaryngology, head & neck surgeon specializing in the treatment of problems related to the ear, nose, and throat. Located in Warrenton, VA about 45 minutes west of Washington DC, he also provides inhalant allergy testing/treatment, hearing tests, and dispenses hearing aids.

Banner Map

Pediatric Neck Masses

Adult Neck Mass Workup